Reviews

7.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.8
Comfort
7.6
Property location
6.5
Facilities
7.3
Staff
7.9
Value
7.3

Reviews

    Sarah
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    2 April 2018

    Restful sincere hotel with attention to comfort

    Location
    The hotel is quite remote, but to me that was part of the appeal. It was incredibly peaceful and quiet. The staff were superb - I don’t speak Japanese, but they were very well equipped to deal with me. Dinner and breakfast were really generous, and the onsen was bliss. I loved my stay.
    Sandra
    jp

    Review score

    8.8
    30 December 2017

    A good option if you want to stay overnight in Mashiko.

    Not as nice as the online photos. Lobby is a mess (cluttery, filled with cheap non-matching furniture, tacky shop goods, etc.). Decor in some areas is rather outdated - although, to be fair, other areas have been remodeled and look very nice. Back view of hotel used to be a 'show piece', now just makes the place look run-down.
    Friendly, helpful staff, wonderful outdoor onsen bath, large rooms, tasty meals.
    giaypoh
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    13 December 2017

    Great

    none
    Great place
    Flo
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    13 December 2017

    Great

    none
    Great food at reasonable price
    Rufus
    gb

    Review score

    7.5
    13 November 2017

    Warmly commended

    It's a bit outside the town so getting in and out required a bit of a walk ( about 2km)
    I counted 14 dishes served for the traditional Japanese breakfast. There was no Western breakfast offered. I was given a bike for the day without charge which made getting around a great deal easier. On my day of departure the manager generously stopped as he passed me to give me a lift to the bus stop. At the bus stop he checked to make sure that I was there for the right bus: most courteous.
    Rachel
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    10 September 2017

    I loved my stay exploring by day then soaking in the onsen bath outside in the night

    They lent me a beautiful bike to use on my weeks stay so I could go anywhere at my own speed and see exactly what I wanted. So kind. So helpful
    Fujiko
    jp

    Review score

    7.9
    28 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jennifer
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    17 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review score

    6.7
    2 May 2017

    A good place if you don't ask for anything beyond what they offer.

    The staff were variable in their attention. All were quite friendly and they do a good job at what they do. But there is little flexibility when faced with a request that is not part of their regular service. I asked for additional pillows because of a bad back. The staff person argued with me that I had enough pillows in the room. After getting a bit short with him, he came back with one more pillow. It's a nice hotel but they do not have a philosophy of customer is always right. I will not be back. Also dinner is inconvenient if you don't get your reservation in time to have it at the hotel.
    The hotel has an onsen and the water was very nice. Breakfast was good as well. The room looked out on trees and was very soothing. Nice location, though a bit far from town.
    Noriko

    Review score

    9.2
    1 May 2017

    amazing food at very luxury hotel with very reasonable price.

    location. It was too far to walk to Mashiko town.
    Breakfast&Dinner was amazing. 5 star food. Especially dinner was only 2,000 yen extra and you will get 9 course meal which would cost you 10,000 yen in Tokyo. There are no restaurant or shop around this hotel so strongly recommended to eat at the hotel unless you go to Mashiko central town.(not Mashiko pottery town) Most of the rooms are suit rooms , bed room with Japanese style Tatami mats room. They have a big enough bath in the room but You should go downstairs for Onsen bath. Especially outside onsen bath was so beautiful. They also have free massage chair.